Know Your Rights!

Wondering how to address social and emotional topics with Violet, who is pretty much a closed book (albeit one of the noisiet, most dramatic closed books you’ll ever meet), I ordered her The Gifted Kids’ Survival Guide: For Ages 10 and Under from Free Spirit Publishing, which has a lot of kid-oriented stuff on feelings, self-esteem, behavior, safety, and more.

I just set it out for her to see what she’d think of it. I know she read it because, well, she reads everything that crosses her path. I asked her about it and she said, “Well, you know, mom, it’s about, well, Survival.”

“Surviving what?” I asked.

“Surviving school,” she answered, with a shrug and a roll of the eyes to indicate that “surviving school” no longer had much to do with her.

“So it’s not really relevant for you, huh,” I said, and after a brief discussion about the word “relevant” she agreed. “I guess the best way to ‘survive’ school is just not to go, huh?” I said.

“Right!” she said firmly.

But I know she got something out of the section on perfectionism. Tonight during bedtime Victoria, age 3, said, “Mom, [Violet] made a mistake!”

As if reading straight from the book, Violet responded. “I can make a mistake. Everyone has a right to make four mistakes a day!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Gifted Ed, Gifted Heart and Soul, Socialization, Why Homeschool?

Leave a Reply

