Mmmm . . . Cupcakes

Many thanks to friend Andrea at The New Homemaker forum for pointing me in this direction:

Oh Baby!

These are Red Hot Cupcakes courtesy of the Cupcake Blog.

And that’s just the tip of the icing bag! Maybe you fancy banana boston cream pie cupcakes or green tea bubble cream filled cupcakes with green tea cream cheese frosting. I am thinking of making cupcakes for the upcoming First Communion party, but will probably do black bottom cupcakes and maybe coconut cupcakes or carrot cake cupcakes. Catering the rest baby!

(You can see how excited these cupcakes make me. Two “baby”s in one post — so far!)

Also on the domestic tip, I found a great deal on a remanufactured Scooba

We’ve had the Roomba (robot vaccuum) for years, but once I could get a bargain price on the wet mopping version, I had to go for it. So far so good. Not as awesome as the Roomba, but given the infrequency of mopping around here, it is a tremedous improvement.

See, this is the “reschooling Mom” portion of the blog. It’s taken me 37 years to realize that though I excel at many things, organization and housekeeping are not among them, and that does not make me a bad person.

Instead, it is making me a creative person — how can I be a decent homemaker (a calling I take increasingly seriously as I realize that if I don’t do it, who will?) when my primary gifts seem to be in things like writing, philosophy, and leadership? (At least I am a pretty good cook.) I still haven’t answered this question, but between my robot maids, my professional organizer, and my network of girlfriends online and in real-life, I think I am making progress.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking and Eating, Homekeeping, Love This, Love this Resource, Remedial Domesticity

Leave a Reply

