Whee — homemade prizes!

Yes, prizes for the first 3 people to comment on this post — that is, the first 3 people who agree to participate in the homemade gift exchange that I fell for with great enthusiasm, thanks to new blogger friend JOve of Tricotomania. How could I resist the possibility that someone might knit something for lil’ ol’ me? (Not that I know she’ll knit, but it’s worth trying.)

Here’s the deal, from Kim at Relaxed Homeskool

If you are one of the first three commentors on this post, then you are in. I send you a homemade gift sometime, er, soon. When inpiration and time collide for me (usually 2am). [As in, let’s all be patient with each other.] In return, you go to your blog and make the same offer. So, you’ll be making 3 things and receiving one.

Kim’s list of useful FAQ’s

What if you don’t have a blog?

Well, if not, I’ll host your request here. But only if you are a really awesome knitter. Haha. Okay, I’ll do it no matter what. If you join the exchange on your blog let us know here!

What if I don’t like my gift?

Too bad. Mom taught us all how to be gracious.

What if I’m not crafty or artistic?

So? Do it anyway. There are millions of things to be made and some part of you needs to get in to the process of creating something with your hands. It is therapeutic and eye opening. Even if it is a paper airplane. You could always do an artist trading card…they can be easy or hard, depending upon your effort.

What about shipping?
Like I said, an artist trading card? That might cost one stamp or less. But if you want to make a bust of the recipient out of pine, go ahead. [And yes, I will ship overseas! 😉 ]

What? I have to give someone in cyberspace my address?

Well, yeah. So you should probably only sign up here if you have read or known me for a few months, that way you know I am a fine upstanding citizen who will only plague you with annual Christmas cards after the exchange.

Also, you don’t have to be a homeschooler, but you can’t be related to me by blood. You can be a lurker, but then you will have to de-lurk at least temporarily. Come on, you know you want to!

6 Comments

Filed under Knitting and crafting, Oh Mother

6 responses to “Whee — homemade prizes!

  1. Claudia

    This sounds very cool 😀 I’m not a homeschooler though…just someone who enjoys doing crafty things.

  2. I love your humor! I got kick out of your last sentence.

  3. Woo hoo! Am I number three? If not do I get a cosolation prize. 😛

  4. Oh phew, I’m the 4th! I waited until I was. I would LOVE to join in but am so busy at the moment and am coming down with a cold and a hundred other excuses. I have been wanting to do something like this for a while though, so you may see this pop up at my site in a couple of weeks (or so) in the future.

  5. Pingback: HOMEMADE GOODIES! entries close Tuesday August 21 « Kaya

  6. Wonderful site. Will come back!!

Leave a Reply

