State Fair Vacation

We’re doing next to nothing for the next 2 weeks. Piano is always a given, and since we started with Poppy and Bravewriter we’re going to continue, but otherwise we are sleeping late, watching a little morning PBS, and generally being lazy bums. Here’s why:

msf06_mid

It is one of the (non-human) things I most love in life. Scary, isn’t it?

But is it as scary as this?!?

magnum

Sadly, the Magnum PI ride is from a few years ago, and I doubt we’ll see its like again.

So, I must apologize for the general shallowness of my thoughts for, pretty much, the month of August, but we promise to get back to more Hardcore Homeschool Action in September.

5 Comments

Filed under Curriculum, Family Fun, Schoolday Doings

5 responses to “State Fair Vacation

  1. How fun! We have been taking vacation as well.

    I love the show Magnum PI, with Tom Selleck! I have the first 6 seasons on DVD. That is cute that there is a fair ride.

  2. OMG! I totally saw that same Magnum P.I. ride when I took Z to the fair a couple weeks ago! I thought it was Hi – larious!

  3. eggmaster

    Tom Selleck (or, more accurately, Thomas Magnum) is a common subject for carnival rides. Most people aren’t aware that among carnival folk, Thomas Magnum is considered to be a prophet or a minor demigod. It’s kinda like one of those cargo cults. Tom Selleck visited the California State Fair, and his vocal (and almost violent) devotion to the Second Amendment caused the ride operator to enter a visionary trance. Selleck denies the incident ever occurred (but still fervently opposes gun control).

  4. lol. Have a wonderful homeschooling break. We missed a couple of the local county fairs in our area this summer and I am still kicking myself. There is so much to see and experience but not with a crabby 9 month old in tow.

  5. I’m enjoying the fair via Lileks at buzz.mn. 😉

Leave a Reply

