Thanksgiving recap

Thanks for the good wishes — I am still coughing like crazy, which is pretty gross, but otherwise doing well. Here’s a peek into our Thanksgiving:

Making the turkey brine:

IMG_0447

Thanksgiving crafts:

IMG_0448

Raw and roasted potatoes: I just thought the potatoes were gorgeous, especially raw. I like the milky white marbling. The molasses-horseradish glaze was a big hit! You make a sauce with butter, molasses, and horseradish, reduce it, blend it, and then strain it, so that you are getting a little horseradish essence.

IMG_0449IMG_0455

Me and my mom: if you can’t read her shirt, it says “Half Full.” That is my mom in a nutshell . . . or a t-shirt. She and my step-dad are here for the weekend.

IMG_0462_1

My friend Mo and our kids: I’ll have to give them screen names eventually. This is our 3rd Thanksgiving together. She is a real mother hen, not just for the kids she knows, but grown-ups too. Kind of like the big sister I never had! (But only the tiniest bit older, really.)

IMG_0476

Violet and I spent some time shopping together this afternoon — I felt so thankful to be able to afford new, non-trampy clothes for my girl, and to be able to have time to spend with her. We were joking around and I said, “I only have ten years to get tired of having you around, or else you’ll just have to skip college and stay home with me.” Of course, it is even less than that!

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking and Eating, Family Fun, Homekeeping, Knitting and crafting, Remedial Domesticity, Socialization

3 responses to “Thanksgiving recap

  1. It looks like it was a great day.

    My goodness what a resemblance between you and your girls! And you don’t look old enough to have an 8 yo!

  2. I am glad to hear from you. It looks like you had a great Thanksgiving with family and friends.

  3. It looks like it was a lovely day and the potato dish looks delicious. I love the photo of you and your mom. It is very touching.

Leave a Reply

