Secret Soup Spice

We enjoyed a really good turkey noodle soup tonight, courtesy of the old turkey carcass for stock and a freshly purchased turkey breast for meat. Also, gotta use real frozen egg noodles, which are nice and thick and chewy.

turkeynoodle07

I have recently discovered a way to give added richness and, if Dr. Weil is to be believed, immune-boosting/inflammation-reducing properties to my chicken and turkey soups:

images

Turmeric

Just be careful handling it, as my experience with Indian cooking has confirmed the spice’s incredible staining potential. I think about a teaspoon for a soup with 6 cups of stock is about right — saute it in oil with the aromatic veggies for a minute or two to enhance the flavor and to release whatever medicinal benefits it may have.

If you’re into turmeric, here’s a weird yet oddly tasty thing to try

:

Saute some turmeric and walnuts in butter or oil, and when cool serve over plain yogurt with honey. I think I read this in a Buddhist cookbook years ago, or maybe in a Dr. Weil source, but in any case it’s supposed to be good for you.

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking and Eating

3 responses to “Secret Soup Spice

  1. I can attest to the anti-inflammatory power of turmeric. I am always more limber and more comfortable in my body after a good dose of curry.

  2. We like tumeric here! And it does give food a nice color.

  3. That looks yummy. My husband loves it and uses it on chicken.

Leave a Reply

