Hopes, Dreams and Fears

I am supposed to writing and writing and writing this weekend (first about actor David Garrick, and then about Hume’s Treatise on Human Nature) but who can say no to Patience? So, I indulge in another meme:

What is the best part about your life right now?

The return of the sunshine. I can’t live without sun. Although the best part of this day so far has been listening to my daughter sweetly and joyfully singing “Jesus Christ is Risen Today” next to me in church.

What do you think the best part about the near future will be?

More sun, less work. Here’s where I see me this summer: holding a paper coffee cup or a knitting project, on a bench on the side of a playground. I see a picnic breakfast in a nearby park and dinner on the porch. Sounds like I think the best part of the near future will be going outside!

What are you most afraid of?

For reals? Being alone. Not being by myself, but being alone. My sense of connection to people is easily weakened, and I’m lucky to have sturdy friends who keep me in their networks. As a very active introvert, I need plenty of alone time, but I also need to feel that I am connected in spirit to others, through shared work, goals, and dreams. I need to know that My People are out there somewhere.

What are you a little worried about?

Screwing up my children forever. (I worry about this only a little because, as Philip Larkin knows, screwing up is inevitable.)

What do you dream of?

My contributions to the “when we win the Powerball” daydreams usually involve travel, possibly a second home somewhere in England. My “someday” daydreams involve going back to London with my family for a long touristing vacation, learning another instrument, and finding a way to get back into singing regularly. In the “if only I could” file: getting rid of all the clutter in my house, scrubbing it from top to bottom, and then sitting by an open window with a glass of iced tea and sighing.

Who do you trust most to share these things with?

My husband — World’s Greatest Listener. Too good, maybe.

What questions do you have?

Am I doing it right?
Can I ever do enough?
Will my kids grow up and be OK?
Does God really care about this stuff?
How much longer til my husband gets home from work?

What skills can you share?

I don’t think I’m a great instructor. My strategy as a teacher is usually to share enthusiasm, curiosity, and discipline. But I’m good in the kitchen, I’m a good writer, I’m a good public speaker, I know enough about music to help student musicians, and I am pretty good at helping others develop their thoughts into coherent verbal expression — if they want to learn.

If you are reading this and want to share, please do, and say that you did in the comments so we can go see!

2 Comments

Filed under Oh Mother

2 responses to “Hopes, Dreams and Fears

  1. Angela, MotherCrone

    We share many of the same answers here! I must do this meme now that I am not so distracted with planning ideas!

  2. patience

    Aw, thank you. Great read! I can empathise with so much of it, except the bit about sunshine šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

