After the Farmers Market

Where do you go after the farmers’ market? To Deborah Madison and Alice Waters, most like.

panisse pickles

Our neighbor gave us a jar of homemade pickles she’d made with her grandparents, so who was I to say no to trying it at our house?

We made refrigerator pickles, which were so easy. I looked at several online recipes before I finally located my copy of Chez Panisse Vegetables, which of course had that basic master recipe that gives you a place to start and lets you add your own stamp.

pickles

Which is key when kids are cooking. It’s good to learn to measure precisely, but it’s also good to have a friendly competition over who will put the most garlic in her pickle jar.

garlic pickles
3 Comments

Filed under Cooking and Eating, Family Fun, Remedial Domesticity

3 responses to “After the Farmers Market

  1. Ooh, ooh! Let me know how they taste. I just got a raved about recipe from a homeschooler that I was going to try.

    (great pictures too!)

  2. Why did it not even occur to me to put garlic in my pickles? I’m clearly an idiot. The next jar….

  3. Oh, those look wonderful. I’ve never done refrigerator pickles and I have that cookbook! I’ll have to give them a try!

    Hey, I’m hosting a Farmer’s Market Report. Maybe you’d like to submit this post? Come on over and check it out: http://toeverymeal.blogspot.com/2008/08/farmers-market-report-august-23rd.html

Leave a Reply

