Find me a New Quote!

I do like my Woody Allen quote to the right, as it speaks both to the deranged teachers we’ve all had, and to the deranged teacher my children now have. 😉

But I want something new. Sadly, so many of the homeschooling/education quotes I find are so self-righteous, so “people who go to school are stupid,” or “teachers suck.” That’s not really me. In fact I was at my “gym” this morning with a large group of current and retired teachers, and they were lovely people who loved their students and talked about how they are always trying to do better. I’m not about to insult them on my blog even if it is “just a joke.”

If anyone is still reading this blog after my extended break, do you have any homeschooling/education quotations you like? I am the kind of weirdo who has kept a commonplace book — I like memorable turns of phrase, so let me know what you’ve got.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Find me a New Quote!

  1. My favourite homeschooled/homeschooler is Robert Frost, and he said: Education is the ability to listen to almost anything without losing your temper or your self-confidence.

    He also said, I go to school the youth to learn the future.

    And, The best things and best people rise out of their separateness; I’m against a homogenized society because I want the cream to rise.

  2. Oooh, good question. I don’t know though, I love quotes but they are so personal.

  3. Meg

    I like Ray Bradbury from Fahrenheit 451 (pub. 1953)

    “Why aren’t you in school?” “Oh, they don’t miss me,” she said…”I don’t think it’s social to get a bunch of people together and then not let them talk, do you?”

  4. There’s a Mark Twain quote along the lines of “I never let my schooling interfere with my education.” I like that one. I had it on the wall in my classroom for a while.

  5. I love reading everyone’s quotes, too, but I tend to end up with ones like “What a pity he couldn’t stay for the irregular verbs! One more month and he’d have had something to sustain him in life.” Good luck finding a suitable one.
    I agree with you 100% on the not-dissing-teachers sentiment.

  6. Debra

    “To educate a child perfectly requires profound thought, greater wisdom, than to govern a state.”
    – William Ellery Channing 1838

    Love your site, I homeschool in Mi and we are also learning Mandarin. So I get a lot of insperation from your post.

  7. Just read this on another site. Love the Bradbury quote.

    Pope Benedict XVI:

    An authentic education … needs, above all, that nearness and that confidence that are born from love: I think of that first and fundamental experience of love that children have,or at least should have, with their parents. But every true educator knows that to educate he must give something of himself and that only in this way can he help his students to overcome egoism and become capable of authentic love in turn.

Leave a Reply

