The Inevitable

I should have known . . . that overwhelmed feeling, the repeated late nights, the sniffly children.

What else could it lead to but my own terrible cold?

Right now, my mom is reading this and thinking, “Yes, Shaun always gets that fall cold.” Which I do. (I haven’t been tested for allergies lately, but in past tests I’ve had no allergenic excuse for my copious mucus production. But I wonder if that has changed in the last 20 years.)

Yet things are going OK. Violet got her first official grade from an educational institution today — an A on her BYU English quiz. No surprise there. Victoria continues to read and read. She is not an independent reader yet, but she is getting there. I know it’s wrong, so blame it on my cold — I am really excited to be able to tell both children to sit and read for a while so mom can have some quiet.

Victoria absolutely loves co-op this year. It almost makes me feel guilty about not sending her to Kindergarten, except that co-op is less than 3 hours of classes one day a week. Science, not surprisingly, is her favorite class. Today they got to look at animal skeletons!! (Those are her exclamation points.)

It is just so precious to see her dashing off happily down the hall (of the church space we rent) to her next class, her giant backpack bouncing behind her. As she was sick the first week, I offered last week to introduce her to her teachers and remind them that she had missed the first class. “I can do it, mom,” she told me confidently. And she did — I watched through the window. She surely is a funny mix of shyness and confidence, reticence and sociability. I’m happy to give her this gentle start into more formal education. And I agree with Lizabeth, she seems pretty bright.

Violet is really challenged by this significant part in her play. She has so much memorizing to do, and so much rehearsing. She is doing fairly well keeping on track with her other studies; I confess I am pretty proud of her for all she is trying to do this year. She really seems to be learning something about the limit on many different things you can fit in a day, and how you sometimes have to give up one thing you enjoy (say, a TV show) in order to do something else you enjoy. Still, once the play ends I think we’ll have an enforced period of slowness until the new year.

Regarding the play: I believe one of the founders of the workshop also wrote the play. She is active in the screenwriters’ union here, and she writes and composes a lot of original stuff to complement the workshop’s plays and musicals. I am hoping to have a sit-down with her in the future to talk about Violet’s burgeoning interest in performing and how to avoid burnout.

And I must say the comments on my last post made me very happy! Not that I like to fish for compliments or pity, but a kind word or two of support really does make it easier to carry on.

And I will be carrying myself away for the weekend, scrapbooking with a good friend. (I am sorry if scrapbooking makes you think I am a big dork, but if you hadn’t figured that out yet, you are not a very good reader. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I may end spending most of my time sleeping in a hotel bed, but somehow that seems quite alright. If you don’t get scrapbooking, here’s the deal: you drink coffee, or diet Coke, or later in the evening wine with your friends; you gossip; you ooh and ahh over each other’s life stories in photo-essay form; you play with scissors, tape, and pretty papers just like Kindergarten; you laugh really really hard; you remember that you actually adore your family and your life is really freakin’ good. Possibly not unlike blogging, except that you’re there in the flesh with other humans. And that, at the end, you have a book that your family likes to pore over, especially the children.

Have a great weekend!

6 Comments

Filed under Family Fun, Learning Styles, Oh Mother, Our Philosophy (such as it is), Schoolday Doings, Socialization, Why Homeschool?

6 responses to “The Inevitable

  1. mycottagegarden

    I hope you feel better soon!

    Its so great that your co-op is going well. And its good for Violet to have a challenge ๐Ÿ™‚

    I used to scrapbook a lot, before I discovered weblogging!

  2. MOM

    This IS your mother & yes, you do get a Fall cold, but usually in November. Enjoy your relaxing week-end. Happy BD!

  3. adsoofmelk

    Oh, Shaun, I am so sorry. I get that fall cold too — I think it’s going back to school and being exposed to 150 germ carriers all day. All that I know is that I was sounding like I was going through puberty for a whole week. Gee…given what happened when I went through puberty originally, I can hardly wait for what’s going to pop up this time around. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Hope you feel better!

  4. I hope you are feeling better and had a lovely weekend. I keep trying to plan a weekend away in a hotel by myself but other things keep getting in the way.

  5. Great post!

    I love hearing how well your girls are doing. I SO wish I could do some scrap booking with you! I really want to meet you and your girls someday. I have a feel Z would get along well with V and V.

    I am so envious of your theatre connections! How cool!

    I am sorry you are not feeling well. Get better soon!

  6. Cher Mere — I hope we will meet soon too! We are thinking of going to Reno this year, and possibly to Chicago in the next year too, so I feel sure it will happen.

    Your comment (and everyone’s comments) was so nice, I’m sorry I did not respond sooner, but I have been so out of it with illness. DH and I both totally forgot our wedding anniversary this week!

Leave a Reply

