My Dad Thinks My Blog is Boring

Sorry, I just had to twit my dad for a conversation we had earlier.

Though this appears to be a theme in my family. Another family member who shall remain nameless (though my dad knows who it is!) once told me about a movie, “You’d like it. It’s boring.”

I don’t think I’m boring — though I’m sure my blog is boring at times (no no, don’t write in to contradict me, because I won’t believe you!). I think I am an introvert whose preferred brain juice is acetylcholine rather than dopamine, the favored chemical of extroverts.

I learned this from Mary Sheedy Kurcinka’s workshop, but you can also find it in The Hidden Gifts of the Introverted Child. Here’s a little synopsis of the difference, from the book:

Acetylcholine says “Let’s think about it.” This is the superstar of thought, concentration, and voluntary movement. Controls vital activities that govern arousal, attention, awareness, perceptual learning, sleep, and waking. It’s the main neurotransmitter used by innies’ “Put on the Brakes” nervous system.

Dopamine says “If it feels good, do it.” This is one of our most rewarding neurotransmitters. Dopamine regulates movement, pleasure, and action. It is essential for alert awareness, especially the feeling of excitement about something new. It’s the main neurotransmitter for outies, built by the building blocks released by the “Give It the Gas” nervous system. It is also the most addictive of all neurotransmitters.

There’s much more to explain about the brain chemistry involved here, including some cool data from experiments, but one way of looking at it is that introverts often do not enjoy instant gratification as much as the delayed gratification achieved by a slow build, a course of study, something that requires concentration.

In other words, things that seem boring.

When you are reading the subtitles in a foreign movie or waiting for the plot of a long novel to build up some steam, you’re priming the acetylcholine pump — as long as there is some enjoyment that comes along eventually. There’s always the risk that the book will start slow and wind down from there.

So I’m not boring. I just like my neurotransmitters on the more subtle side. You can tell because I actually enjoy reading and writing about neurotransmitters on a Friday night. 😉

10 Comments

Filed under Gifted Heart and Soul, Learning Styles, Love this Book

10 responses to “My Dad Thinks My Blog is Boring

  1. This is funny. What does it say about your audience? 🙂

  2. Oh, Violet might want to inquire what party(ies) I belong or don’t belong, to analyze why I thought your post was funny. LOL

  3. I don’t know. Blogs are a bit like domestic life – beauty and boringness or not, are in the eye of the beholder….

  4. LOL

    That is interesting. So now there is a chemical that explains why us nerdy types like to study and do research.

    That sounds like a really good book. I should buy it. My Pere is more of an introvert than me and I would love some more insight on him. 🙂

  5. V. interesting. I don’t think of myself as an introvert but I’m not much of a dopamine addict either.

  6. My dh says the same about my blog and movies. I do like a boring movie and the English novel. My favorite is Anita Brookner. My husband says nothing ever “happens” in her novels. And I love that.

  7. You know what my mother said? “I don’t have time to read your jolly blog.”

  8. RaiulBaztepo

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  9. Очень полезно

Leave a Reply

