Open-Minded Neurotics Unite

I was not surprised to read this:

We examined whether the Big Five personality traits predicted blogging. The results of two studies indicate that people who are high in openness to new experience and high in neuroticism are likely to be bloggers. Additionally, neuroticism was moderated by gender indicating that women who are high in neuroticism are more likely to be bloggers… The results indicate that personality factors impact the likelihood of being a blogger and have implications for understanding those who blog.

More here.

What do you say, friends?

Rainy day here — kind of nice to have an excuse to stay inside, although we have two back-to-back piano recitals (one for each kids) this afternoon. If your child (or husband) is like mine, someone in your house may have been counting down the days til the release of Sims 3. It’s a perfect day for a few hours of playing god in front of the computer. Now I just have to pump myself up for feigning interest. 😉

5 Comments

Filed under Oh Mother

5 responses to “Open-Minded Neurotics Unite

  1. Count me as one of the neurotics. Oh so true.

    Have a nice indoor day.

  2. Count me in on both counts: neurotic and awaiting Sims 3!

  3. An “open-minded neurotic.” Is that even possible? I’m happy to accept such a claim for myself, but it doesn’t explain most of the bloggers I follow.

  4. I quickly read through the article.

    The criteria used to define neuroticism seemed, at least to me, to be weighted toward feminine displays. I had to give it some thought, and I decided I know two guys that I would describe as neurotic. Not that I don’t know men with issues, I just would describe their issues as not in the neurotic category.

    I think female college students are different than most adult women, and the author alluded to this. Also, the younger generations grew up with a media of openness: Face Book, My Space, and reality shows to name a few medias. My observation is that younger people tend to display their emotions more openly than an adult, and as they age they filter more.

    I think the people I know online might be a small subpopulation that differs from the mainstream. I don’t consider myself a neurotic, but I am different, with a couple of fears, that I don’t consider debilitating, but perhaps to an outside observer might seem neurotic. Is that neurotic enough?

  5. hmmm…. I am not sure how I feel about the neurotic label.

    Recently I have been wondering if the field of psychology is sexist. There was a study (I will try to find it, but if I wait to post this until I do I might not get around to posting this today) that polled mental health professional on traits of optimal mental health for women, men and people in general. They found that the professional described traits for a mentally healthy “person” the same as for a mentally healthy man. The mental healthy women had different traits from a mentally healthy “person.’ So what does that mean??

    So – let’s look at the description they use for Neuroticism in the Big Five “Neuroticism is the tendency to experience negative emotions, such as anger, anxiety, or depression. It is sometimes called emotional instability. Those who score high in neuroticism are emotionally reactive and vulnerable to stress. ”

    They compare that to “individuals who score low in neuroticism are less easily upset and are less emotionally reactive.”

    I have to wonder about “emotionally reactive,” if that trait is more common in women than in men and if it would be considered less optimal to be more “reactive.”

    Sorry to hijack your post. This is just reminded me of something I am planning to research.

Leave a Reply

