Seven Words

I enjoyed reading this list from Sarah at Knitting the Wind, so I thought I would try it. I am not currently writing any poetry, so I am at a serious disadvantage. With that caveat, here are seven words I really like:

aesthetic – The “ae” combo looks good at the beginning of almost any word, and then “sth” follows right afterwards. This is a very handsome word. And then there is the breadth of its connotations.

precise – Like sharp, glittering scissors. Snip – off goes the superfluous.

superfluous – How lovely to confidently declare something “superfluous.” Not useless, not bad. It’s just overflow and it has to go. “Superfluous” is like a verbal brush off with the back of the hand. “Scoot – we don’t need any today.”

funk – You can’t say it without a booming bass thump, a hitting-bottom sound, a bump in the solar plexus.

epistemological – Cheating a bit. I just wish everyone understood this word and its implications.

gustatory – I have no shame when it comes to five-dollar words, clearly. What a happy sound – taste and gusto all rolled into one. “pleasure” can be a very annoying word, but “gustatory pleasure” is quite nice.

linen – Crisp, sharp, almost pointy — feel your tongue pointing behind your teeth (on the alveolar ridge — ask the family who is watching linguistics lectures for fun).

Now, I will make a deal with Sarah. I will write a poem with her words if she will write a poem with mine! No, not really. Even as the much better poet, she would be at a serious disadvantage with my words. (Oh wait, was that a retraction or a provocation?)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Seven Words

  1. Thanks for the tip on the Knitting the Wind blog. Somehow, it fell below my radar. However, as a homeschooler and struggling poet/writer, I love Sarah’s blog!

  2. sarah haliwell

    Aha, I sense another synaesthete! I absolutely loved, loved, loved your descriptions of these words, and agreed with every one. And I was provoked – http://knittingthewind-westering.blogspot.com/2009/07/for-shaun-one-of-most-clever-people-i.html – although I do not think I managed the challenge very well at all. It was a tough gig! 🙂 Now your turn.

  3. Pingback: A Poem for Sarah « Red Sea School

Leave a Reply

