The Joys of Elitism

Sometimes I feel guilty about inadvertently turning my children into culture snobs.

The only Disney they really like anymore is Miyazake releases. They are appalled by the Jonas Brothers, Justin Bieber, Miley Cirus, etc. (How Taylor Swift got a pass is not clear.) Zappa and Bowie are among their cultural touchstones. Violet came home from Chinese immersion camp and quickly immersed herself in the artsy-fartsy version of the Odyssey I brought home, and she loudly scorns Twilight. (Though she is now obsessed with Maximum Ride.)

Sometimes I think we fulfill so many of the creative class stereotypes that we approach self-parody.

But here is the thing. The thing is, I don’t like that crap either. I’d rather listen to my 7yo singing “Starman” than “Party in the U.S.A.” I’d rather talk about Esperanto than Edward and Jacob with my 11yo. As if by magic, they seem to be able to sniff out crappy book-to-film adaptations and refuse to go, which means I don’t have to go either!

In the short term, at least I’m saving myself from some of the minor irritations of parenting, and since we’re the ones who have to live with the little beasties, I think we deserve at least that much.

3 Comments

Filed under Family Fun, Music and Art

3 responses to “The Joys of Elitism

  1. I am so with you on that!
    Oh, and if you are interested in comparing illustrated versions of the Odyssey, I’ve got a drop-dead gorgeous version for you to check out.
    http://www.amazon.com/Adventures-Odysseus-Hugh-Lupton/dp/1841488003/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1283138246&sr=8-1
    Might make an interesting study in differing artistic visions.

  2. shaun

    Great idea! Maybe we can get back to the library this weekend and find it. I am trying to be good and stay away from Amazon, especially after all the $$ just spent on the fall tuition for dance, music, online classes, etc.

  3. I completely support snobby elitism. I bought a collection of opera for my kids last week and N LOVED it. Jeff ended up driving them home from my mom’s this past weekend and was something less than thrilled with that car trip’s soundtrack. Let him eat cake.

Leave a Reply

